Longest Lived Dogs

The following are the top 15 longest lived dogs as reported by Caring for Your Dog by Bruce Fogle, DVM.
 
 
1. Miniature Poodle
 
2. Miniature Dachshund, Toy Poodle
 
3. Tibetan terrier, Bedlington terrier, whippet
 
4. Border terrier
 
5. Jack (Parson) Russell terrier
 
6. Chow chow
 
7. Shih tzu
 
8. Beagle, Pekingese, Shetland sheepdog
 
9. Cairn terrier, greyhound, mixed breed
 
10. Border collie, Chihuahua, Dalmatian,    English Springer Spaniel, Wire Fox terrier
 
11. Bull terrier, Irish red and white setter, basset hound, West Highland white terrier, Yorkshire terrier
 
12. Labrador retriever
 
13. Cocker Spaniel, Vizsla
 
14. Bearded collie, German shorthaired pointer
 
15. Standard Dachshund, Rough collie
 
 
(Longest Lived means how old they live to be, not how long they’ve been around)!

About thecanineguru

I am a canine behaviorist of 27 years and offer canine rehabilitation, training, and behavior change to clients under the given name "The Canine Guru." I am known mostly for my online presence through my blogs, Doggy Times and Doggy Times II. Both were honored by MSN Editors multiple times. My methodology focuses on energy and how to use and read it. I firmly believe in operant conditioning and positive reinforcement. I don't feel that choke, pinch, or electric collars are necessary when working with dogs. The harshest method I ever use is the squirt bottle and the occasional touch, or poke. I'm known for "speaking" to dogs in their own language using body language, energy, touch, and the occasional sound.
This entry was posted in Did You Know...?. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Longest Lived Dogs

  1. Tricia says:

    I love your site 🙂 I have a dog named Kuijo (said Cujo). She is half rat terrier and half yorkie, 7 lb of pure energy. Are rat terriers spin offs of Jack Russell Terriers? I read that some where and it seemed kinda odd… Well, again nice site, keep up the good work Best of MSN 🙂

  2. Charlene says:

    Cute site! Must\’ve spend a lot of time working on it. I was wondering how to post the "media player" on the site since it looks so original. Thank you. =)

  3. Natasha says:

    Hello,I\’m delighted to read that mini dachsunds are so long lived. I heard 15 years. Mine is 2 1/2 y/o. I still have a hard time with accidents in the house. We keep her in the kitchen during the day while we\’re at work and in a kennel at night while we sleep. Alas there are still accidents when we\’re home and when we bring her to visit our families. (embarassing)Do you have any suggestions?

  4. VENTL8R says:

    What a great site! I have a 7yo red sesame Shiba Inu (Lexi) and a 5yo blue merle Sheltie (Thursday). My Shiba is my first-ever dog – heck of a breed to start with!! After training and being trained by a Shiba, I could probably handle a Basenji!I love the Shiba, but this is a breed you REALLY need to do your homework on. It took me a while to finally realize and accept that this is not a Lab and will not do what I ask. If there is a free spot in her schedule she\’ll consider the request. But if there is a comflict, it ain\’t gonna happen! I go could go one and on about the quirkiness of the Shiba, but I will spare you. I will say that Lexi is a rare Shiba in that I can let her off leash and she will come back when called. Maybe not immediately, but after she\’s sniffed sometihng interesting.Keep up the great work!

  5. Jasmine says:

    Yes! My dog is partly number six in the top fifteen! Awesome! Lovely space. Keep up the good work.~ Oasis

  6. Unknown says:

    In the May 2004 volume of SCIENCE, there is an article by Parke et al., entitled "Genetic Structure of the Purebred Domestic Dog" (page 1160).  In that article, they provide DNA evidence as to the development of the many different purebred dogs we know today.  Of interest is the four "original" breeds, with are the Shiba, the Sharpei, the Chow Chow and the Akita, which have an origination time period of circa 150,000 years ago.  On the other hand, the Samoyed is proven to be a relatively recent breed, dating back to about 200 years ago.  This being the case, perhaps you might care to change the incorrrect information you have listed for the Chow.

  7. Teren says:

    I had a cocker spaniel that lived 17 years and she just died on 2-8-09 and we had got her in 91 and i was born in 92 so she was about 17

  8. belle says:

    Our little 4 lb yorkie is 19 and in great shape except she\’s been blind since age 15. She\’s had a charmed life of being our baby, eaten only mighty dog beef, alpo snaps and she loves cheeseburgers plain, but only from mcdonalds 🙂 She\’s only had filtered water, lots of sunshine and play. Even now I take her out twice a day into the courtyard and she wanders around for about an hr, sometimes napping in the sun out there. She never cries, never has upset stomach, always hungry for her 1/3 can mighty dog, twice daily. She never gained any weight and still weighs 4 little lbs. She\’s our Lovey and shows no signs of leaving us any time soon. I think our not having any (other) kids, a quiet house with a regular routine has helped her a lot.

  9. belle says:

    one more thing.. brush their teeth.. we had our yorkie\’s teeth cleaned when she was about 10, vet said to start brushing twice weekly, she loves the beef flavored toothpaste.

  10. Barbara says:

    My Great Pyrenees was born in February of 1998, She died in October of 2009. She lived 11 and 1/2 years. She was 145 lbs, female. When me and my husband heard hear start to cry 2 weeks before she started to bleed anally, next day, we had to put her down. Doctor said she was old and died of age related sickness. For 11 years she went on every vacation with us twice a year. We think, we did good. She is missed a lot. Her name is Angelica.

  11. Barbara says:

    We also have Princess, Chocolate Labrador retriever. She was born in May of 1997. Today she is 13 1/2 years old. She is dying. Princess got type 1 diabetes 7 years ago. She is getting 6 am insulin shot daily then 10 am food, then 6 pm insulin shot daily and then 10 pm food. Last 2 weeks she quit eating, so I try to give her whatever she wants. She ate meat and rice, then some soft canned food, then only treats food, then down to just meat, then down to nothing. Last 2 days, she had nothing, I tired everything I could think of. Lunch meat, dog food, cat food, liquid food, baby food, and today senior milk for dogs. I use a syringe but she throw up all her food again. I think she’s dying. I don’t want to put her down, I want her to die naturally. I don’t think she is in pain, but I don’t’ want her to die from starvation. Do you think, her colon is clogged or she is just old and sick?

    • canineguru says:

      Barbara, I’m sorry to hear about Princess. Unfortunately, I can not help you with your question. I am not a vet, I’m a canine behaviorist. Please take Princess to the vet right away to have her checked out if you haven’t already. She could have bloat (twisted stomach), but you won’t know for sure until you take her in.

  12. Natasha says:

    I had a Brittany for 15 1/2 years. She was born on November 19, 1995 and died on May 11, 2011; she was completely healthy until a year or so before she died when she developed some hip arthritis, partial seizures and an allergic lung disease that required her to take Prednisone every day. She was a wonderful dog and I will miss her always. I think she hung-on as long as she could because she somehow knew that I was not ready to part with her….

Leave a comment