Beagle

Hound Group

 

History: This breed originated in Great Britain. Beagle-type dogs have existed for centuries, but the breed as we know it today was developed in Great Britain about 150 years ago. It has been one of the most popular breeds in North America for more than a quarter century.

 

Breed Description: This breed is small, lean and slightly longer than it is tall. It has a long skull and square muzzle. It has large, brown or hazel eyes and a black nose. the drop ears are long and broad and the naturally short tail is set high. The short, hard coat is of any hound color. Beagles are usually 10 to 15 inches tall and weigh 20 to 30 pounds.

 

Temperament: Beagles are good-natured but independent-minded dogs. They are outgoing and friendly and they get along well with children and other animals as long as they are socialized. Beagles will pursue scent. This means they are easily distracted by smells. Beagles can be a challange to train.

 

Energy Level: Moderate

 

Notes: Beagles do well with an active family and can adapt to most living conditions, country or city. It is important to have a fenced yard if you own this breed. They will follow scents out of instinct and can wander off. Also, beagles should be on a leash while out on a walk. Socialization is important for this breed as well as training.

 

Health Risks: Cleft palate, demodectic mange, dwarfism, epilepsy, eye problems, hip dysplasia, hypothyroidism, interverebral disc disease, luxating patellas, reproductive disorders.

About thecanineguru

I am a canine behaviorist of 27 years and offer canine rehabilitation, training, and behavior change to clients under the given name "The Canine Guru." I am known mostly for my online presence through my blogs, Doggy Times and Doggy Times II. Both were honored by MSN Editors multiple times. My methodology focuses on energy and how to use and read it. I firmly believe in operant conditioning and positive reinforcement. I don't feel that choke, pinch, or electric collars are necessary when working with dogs. The harshest method I ever use is the squirt bottle and the occasional touch, or poke. I'm known for "speaking" to dogs in their own language using body language, energy, touch, and the occasional sound.
This entry was posted in Breed Basics. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Beagle

  1. Silliest Schnauzer says:

    DOGS RULE!!!!!!!!!Do not try to debate me on this!!!!!! But then again, I don\’t think you will, judging on hat you put on your profile!Anyways, I do like your wallpaper for this site… it looks familiar…Mark aka SilliestSchnauzer

  2. kim says:

    Hi!Question. Is there any way to stop our 1 year old lab/beagle mix dog from barking ….she barks at everything..blowing leaves, birds, noises…anything. And the longer she barks the higher pitch the bark becomes.We want her to bark at strangers walking by, don\’t get me wrong…but this doesn\’t happen as often as it should. She also will take items off our coffee table to schread them….envelopes…hair ties…pads of post it notes…Any help you can give will be greatly appreciated!Kim

  3. islandgirl says:

    yet another interesting bit to read…..we had a beagle when I was a teen….it always looked like a 6 month old puppy, now I see that maybe it was a dwarf, which had never occured to us….sadly the dog was also slightly mad and met an early end due to this.

  4. Doug says:

    And beagles, from first-hand experience, are absolutely the hardest dog to potty train.

  5. Stefania says:

    hi ! I ´m from colombia and I talk in spanish because I not speak good the english ….,. yo tengo un beagle komo pero y pues para que todos se enteren estos tienen una piel muy delicada que con cualquier cosa les da dermatitis y un beagle se puede morir comiendo pescado

  6. Alex says:

    Hi, I am currently considering purchasing a beagle and I found this blog really interesting. Problem is I live in Malta and there are very few people who do have this breed let alone breed it, anyways. Keep it up :)Alex

  7. Unknown says:

    Check out my Blog! I have four beautiful Beagles, they are the best breed ever and I wouldn\’t be without them! http://dughallmorbeagles.blogspot.com

Leave a comment