Pet Overpopulation in the U.S.

Number of dogs and cats entering shelters each year:
6-8 million
 
Number of dogs and cats euthanized by shelters each year: 3-4 million
 
Number of dogs and cats adopted from shelters each year: 3-4 million
 
Number of animal shelters in the U.S.:
Between 4,000 and 6,000
 
Percentage of purebred dogs in shelters:
25 percent
 
Average number of litters a fertile dog can produce in one year: Two
 
Average number of puppies in a canine litter:
6-10
 
Theoretical number of dogs one female and her offspring can produce in six years: 67,000
 
Number of dogs and cats reclaimed by owners from shelters each year: Between 600,000 and 750,000, which is about 15-30 percent of dogs and 2-5 percent of cats entering shelters
 
 
Quoted from: The Dog Bible

About thecanineguru

I am a canine behaviorist of 27 years and offer canine rehabilitation, training, and behavior change to clients under the given name "The Canine Guru." I am known mostly for my online presence through my blogs, Doggy Times and Doggy Times II. Both were honored by MSN Editors multiple times. My methodology focuses on energy and how to use and read it. I firmly believe in operant conditioning and positive reinforcement. I don't feel that choke, pinch, or electric collars are necessary when working with dogs. The harshest method I ever use is the squirt bottle and the occasional touch, or poke. I'm known for "speaking" to dogs in their own language using body language, energy, touch, and the occasional sound.
This entry was posted in Did You Know...?. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Pet Overpopulation in the U.S.

  1. My Stereo Magnet Girl says:

    WOW! Thanks so much, this is gonna be fun! And yes, I absolutely LOVE research, love it. Thanks for your comments, I\’ll see you around 🙂

Leave a comment